Phillips Earns Legislative Action Award for Commitment to Bipartisan Lawmaking

March 26, 2021
Press Release
The accolade comes after recent research showing Phillips as the MN delegation’s most productive member

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03) thanked the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) for presenting him with the 2021 Legislative Action Award, in honor of Phillips’ leadership and demonstrated commitment to crossing the partisan divide. 

The BPC established the Legislative Action Award to acknowledge creative and courageous members who foster bipartisanship when it is needed most. After the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, Phillips worked tirelessly to break through partisan gridlock and deliver relief for small businesses and families. He authored a law to make PPP loans widely accessible to struggling businesses, and his leadership on the Problem Solvers Caucus was the inspiration for the bipartisan COVID-19 relief package passed last December. For these successes and more, Phillips was rated the most productive Representative in the Minnesota delegation by the non-partisan Center for Effective Lawmaking.

“Throughout my 30-year career in business and philanthropy, I witnessed hundreds of organizations throughout the world—but none were so utterly dysfunctional as our Congress,” said Phillips. “I recognize that the best policy ideas are the result of principled debate and thoughtful compromise and I am honored to receive the BPC’s Legislative Action Award. I will continue to pursue common sense ideas for the common good, inspire a new era of collaboration Congress, and restore Americans’ faith in government – especially as we emerge from a once-in-a-generation crisis.”

Congressman Phillips is the only member of the Minnesota delegation to win a Legislative Action Award from the Bipartisan Policy Center and a Jefferson-Hamilton Award for Bipartisanship from the Chamber of Commerce. According to the Lugar Center’s Bipartisan Index, Phillips is Minnesota’s most bipartisan member of the House of Representatives.