Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 6, 2022

The Honorable Linda Thomas-Greenfield United States Ambassador to the United Nations United States Mission to the United Nations 799 United Nations Plaza New York, NY 10017

Dear Ambassador Thomas-Greenfield,

It is with urgency that we write to you about our shared concern regarding the ongoing funding of the UN Commission of Inquiry on the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem and in Israel. After a full year of operation and two published reports, our fears about the bias and scope of this commission have only been reaffirmed. As the UN budget process unfolds in the coming weeks, we urge the United States delegation to strongly advocate to restrict this biased commission's funding from within the UN system, and take steps to eliminate the commission completely.

As you know well, the commission's distorted investigative work has proven to be profoundly problematic. In addition to incomplete and biased reports, the commission's staff has made numerous antisemitic comments. Chair Navi Pillay has labeled Israel an "apartheid state" and advocated for a boycott of the Jewish state, while Commissioner Miloon Kothari has recently claimed that Jews control the media – a pernicious antisemitic trope. Compounding the deep flaws represented by the commission's work and staff is the unprecedented ongoing nature of its mandate, perpetually guaranteeing that UN resources are committed to this deeply flawed investigative body. As such, there is strong bipartisan urgency in Congress to make clear that the United States has no intention of contributing funds to the commission's continued operation.

We greatly appreciate the administration's firm opposition to this commission, which Secretary of State Antony Blinken has called "one-sided" and "biased" since its inception, correctly noting that it "is a continuation of a longstanding pattern of unfairly singling out Israel" at the UN. Importantly, concerns about the nature and scope of the commission informed U.S.-led efforts last December at the UN Budget forum's Fifth Committee which successfully cut the commission's budget by nearly a quarter. As this UN budgetary committee reconvenes in the coming weeks, we urge you to prioritize this issue and assemble a coalition of like-minded allies and partners to ensure a timely end to the operations of this commission through the restriction and ultimate elimination of its funding from within the UN system.

Respect for human rights is a core American value, and an ideal to which all international actors must be held accountable. That accounting must be done in a balanced manner consistent with international norms, and the U.N. Commission of Inquiry abjectly fails to meet these standards. Taking a stand against anti-Israel bias within the UN has been a priority for both Democratic and Republican administrations alike. We thank you for your support for Israel and for pursuing a just peace to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the face of this latest iteration of the UN's anti-Israel agenda. The coming weeks will require the administration to redouble its diplomatic efforts to ensure that funding to this discriminatory investigation ultimately ceases. We stand ready to assist you in any way in defending our democratic ally, Israel.

Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.
Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress Kathy Manning
Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez
Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Timmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

hn R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Jared Golden

Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress



Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Julia Letlow Member of Congress Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress Tracey Mann
Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Brian J. Mast

Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Jua**n** Vargas

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss

Member of Congress

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

David P. Joyce

Member of Congress

Michael Guest

Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Michelle Steel Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres
Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill
Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress Abigall Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress